Possession of Marijuana in Texas

Unfortunately, Texas has more arrests and criminal prosecutions for possession than any other state in the country. According to Alternet, “In 2009, more than 97 percent of all Texas marijuana arrests — over 77,000 people — were for possession only. Those convicted face up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine, even upon a first conviction.” This is ironic because a report from the federal government recently showed that Texas is essentially tied for third in the country for having the most cannabis users.

The ramifications for a person in possession of less than two ounces of marijuana in the state of Texas are extreme and could include:

  • up to 180 days imprisonment
  • fine up to $2000
  • license suspension
  • routine drug testing

Even if you’re in possession of marijuana paraphernalia, that is punishable up to $500.

It seems that it’s not going to change anytime soon. Many of the officeholders and candidates support the case to wait to change the laws until we can further see how the laws — or lack thereof — affect states like Washington and Colorado. However, Texas is currently only trying to change the extreme punishments for a small amount of possession. Dallas Morning News recently reported that candidates are focusing more on the legalization of marijuana, as opposed to the little steps that Texans are trying to accomplish, such as not going to jail for possession of two ounces.

Tarrant Defense criminal lawyers works hard to get you justice in your marijuana possession case. If you find yourself under arrest for possession of the illegal marijuana, you need an experienced and aggressive drug attorney. Tarrant Defense attorneys have handled hundreds of drug crime offenses.