Due to the recent spike of COVID-19 cases throughout Texas and all over the country, Gov. Greg Abbot issued an order to make wearing a mask or face covering mandatory for people in Texas counties where there are at least 20 confirmed cases of the coronavirus with several exemptions. If a person fails to follow the order, he/she may be given a fine.
The following are the exemptions from wearing face coverings:
- Minors under 10 years of age
- A person with a disability or medication condition that could be hindered while wearing a mask
- Any person while eating or drinking, or while seated at a restaurant to dine.
- Any person exercising or engaging in physical activity outdoors (including swimming), while social distancing from others who are not in the same household
- Any person in a vehicle or with passengers from the same household as the driver
- Temporary removal for security, screening, or identification purposes
- Any person engaged in voting activity, whether participating in an election or helping the electoral process
- Any person engaged in religious worship
- Any person giving a speech to an audience or for a broadcast
In order to opt out of this law, a county must have fewer than 20 active COVID-19 cases. Since there are tens of thousands of cases throughout the state, only rural and sparsely populated counties qualify.
When it comes to the penalties, a first offense carries a verbal warning. A second violation or subsequent offense is punishable by a maximum fine of $250.
If you or a loved one has been arrested in Fort Worth, contact Goza & Carreras, Attorneys at Law today at (817) 402-2188 and request a free consultation. Get a former prosecutor on your side immediately!