Aggressive, Dedicated Fort Worth DWI Defense Attorneys
One single DWI conviction in Texas can find you facing any number of consequences, from driver’s license suspension and ignition interlock devices to DWI intervention programs and community service. And the longer you wait to hire an experienced DWI defense lawyer, the more opportunities you lose when it comes to minimizing those consequences.
Our dedicated attorneys at Goza & Carreras, Attorneys at Law, PC, will hit the ground running for you. We will put our 35-plus years of combined legal experience to work, looking at all angles to find the best arguments to put forth in your case.
Consequences of a DWI Conviction in Texas
While numerous factors can affect the final consequences you face based on the charges against you, here is what you can generally expect from a DWI conviction in Texas:
- First-offense DWI: A first-offense DWI is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. It carries with it a jail sentence of 3-180 days, a fine up to $2,000 a license suspension ranging from 90-365 days.
- Multiple-offense DWI: If you are convicted of a second or subsequent drunk driving offense, you may face years in jail, thousands of dollars in fines, extended license suspension and the requirement of using an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
- Felony DWI: Having a felony DWI on your record could land you in prison for up to 10 years and have you face fines of up to $10,000. You could find your driving privileges revoked for life, along with numerous other life-altering consequences.
- Underage DWI : Youthful offenders who get charged with underage drinking find themselves facing criminal consequences and numerous collateral consequences that can make getting employment, housing, school loans and more incredibly difficult. We can help protect your rights and your future.
Implied Consent: Should You Take the Breathalyzer Test or Blood Test?
When you received your driver’s license and got behind the wheel, you agreed to Texas’s implied consent law. That means you have already agreed, in advance, to take any alcohol or drug test that a law enforcement officer reasonably requests.
Refusal to take a test could result in automatic license suspension. To get your protect your driving privileges back, you need to request an administrative hearing within 15 days of the date of refusal. This hearing occurs outside of criminal court, but can be handled by a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer.
Minimize the Consequences. Call Our Law Firm Immediately.
Our experienced Texas DWI attorneys know how to handle both the administrative and criminal aspects of your DWI arrest. We handle DWI defense in Grapevine, Southlake, Keller, Colleyville, Hurst, Euless, and Bedford, TX. Call us as soon as possible after your arrest to get the help you need to stay out of jail, keep your license and protect your record.
Learn more about how we can help by calling our Arlington office today at 817-369-3838. We also welcome online inquiries. We will provide you with a free confidential consultation in our office. Limited paid concierge appointments at a location of your choosing may also be available.