Defending Fort Worth, Arlington & Mid-Cities Clients Against First-Offense DWI Charges
You’re facing your first DWI charge. Do not panic. While the charges against you are severe, and the consequences you face are harsh, there is still hope. You may be able to keep your record clean and limit those consequences.
We are the law firm of Goza & Carreras, Attorneys at Law, PC. Based out of Arlington, we serve clients across Arlington and the Mid-Cities region of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. With more than 35 years of combined legal experience spread across our three criminal defense attorneys , we know what it takes to beat a first-offense DWI charge. We also know that a single charge does not equate to being guilty. Let us review your case to see what we can do for you.
A DWI Conviction Is Costly
When it comes to a first-offense drunk driving charge , there are a few things you should know. A DUI conviction in Texas brings with it:
- Automatic license suspension, which can last up to one year
- Anywhere from three days to 180 days in a Texas state jail facility
- A fine of up to $2,000
- An additional $500 fine and additional time in jail if law enforcement finds an open container in your car
- An additional $1,000 yearly surcharge for three years
- A potential requirement of attending a DWI education program, which you must pay for
Additional consequences of having a drunk driving conviction on your record are that it can limit your employment options, increase your health and auto insurance premiums, and harm your ability to get credit in the future. This is especially harmful for individuals who drive for a living, including tractor trailer drivers and rideshare drivers.
Retaining Your Driving Privileges
One of the main concerns that clients have after being charged with DWI is how they can get and keep their driver’s license. What most clients do not understand is that the driver’s license suspension occurs outside the criminal justice system. It is an administrative consequence of a criminal act, which must be handled through a separate license hearing. We can apply for that hearing on your behalf and seek to get your full privileges reinstated. At a minimum, we can seek a provisional license—often referred to as an occupational license—that will allow you to drive to and from certain locations such as work and school.
Don’t Let One Mistake Ruin Your Future. Let Us Help.
Everyone makes mistakes. That doesn’t mean a single mistake should ruin your opportunity for a good future. Bring your first-offense DWI case to us. We will talk about your situation during a free in-office consultation and discuss your best opportunities to beat the charges against you.